Posts: 1,006
Threads: 330
Joined: Mar 2007
Is there an "open in app" function
for example if I wanted to open a jpg file first in (say test.jpg) first in Paint, then in IE, then in irfanview.exe , how would I do this?
I don't see that in the open file dialog
Stuart
Posts: 1,769
Threads: 410
Joined: Feb 2003
i think each one has it's own method. usually it's in the command-line parameters. once you have the code for the particular program, look up 'run' in the qm help to get how to piece it together for QM.
Posts: 12,147
Threads: 143
Joined: Dec 2002
This works with most programs:
run "...app.exe" "...document.doc"
Sometimes may need to enclose in quotes, especially if contains spaces:
run "...app.exe" "''...document.doc''"
Sometimes the path must not contain spaces, and quotes are not supported. Then make short path:
str s
s.dospath("...doc ume nt.doc")
run "app.exe" s
Sometimes the command line must (or can) include something more. When a document type is associated with a program, you can see the command line in the registry, HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT. Replace %1 with the document path.
Posts: 1,006
Threads: 330
Joined: Mar 2007
The problem I am having is that the file type does not have an extension so everytime I try to run it, the "associate file type dialog comes up (each time for each file). I would like to avoid this step so I don't have to have QM steps for these GUI-interaction steps.
Oddly, when you drag and drop one of the files directly onto the program, it opens perfectly. I have QM'd out those steps but it would be better if I could recreate that association that comes with drag and drop with a run type command (without bringing up the dialog).
I will try the solutions you mentioned but just wondering if this particular problem has come up before with any other apps.
Thanks,
Stuart
Posts: 1,271
Threads: 399
Joined: Mar 2003
consider using the qm shell menu extension in explorer and common dialogs
(context menu).
Shell menu extension triggers
it might be also a good idea to assign a default application for unknown files.
Specify Unknown File Type Options (All Windows)
Quote:Open your registry and find the key below.
Set the "(Default)" value to equal the description you want to use for unknown file types:
Create a new sub-key called [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Unknown\shell\Open\Command] and set the "(Default)" value to equal the command used to view unknown file types. Substitute the symbol "%1" to represent the filename in the command (e.g. "notepad.exe %1").
Restart Windows for the change to take effect.
an advanced approach could be to assign unknown files to a qm function.
Posts: 1,006
Threads: 330
Joined: Mar 2007
For some reason in the run statement, I thought the file name came first (in most cases window name comes 2nd)
I retried it like this:
Quote:run "$program files$\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" "$desktop$\Copy of alz"
with alz being a jpeg that I took the extension of. It seemed to work, so tomorrow I will try with the real program at another location.
If that doesn't work, I will try the registry fixes you mentioned.
Thanks,
Stuart