Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using parameter passed from external program
Forgive my ignorance, but I am new to QM and programming in general.

anyway now for my question. i have an external software running which passes a parameter in the format %1, to be used in msdos batch files. The %1 is actually the full path to a file the software has created e.g C:\downloads\filelist.txt.

Is there any way I can import/use this parameter within QM. I would like to set a macro to take the value of %1 and move that file to a dfferent folder.
Hi,

I use a program called Zentimo that can launch programs on USB disk connection.

Here is one which looks like what you look for:

In Zentimo, i put as application to launch -> "c:\program files (x86)\quick macros\qmcl.exe" M "MyFunction" "MyParameter"

In QM, I use a function called "MyFunction", and I get "MyParameter" from Zentimo using QM _command internal variable

It looks like

run "C:\Program Files (x86)\programtolaunch.exe" F" {_command} "

Hope this help.
Thank you for the suggestion Iddarrambide. But I don't understand how I could use this.

I think I posted my question without expaining it too well. The software i need to intercept is "FileWatcher" by Datamystic. This software watches any combination of folders or files for changes/deletions etc when it detects changes it can send output to a msdos batch file or vbs script. For example a batch file such as:

@echo off
echo File %1 has arrived and is ready for processing

pause

Would pop up a cmd window displaying the new or changed file.

What I would like to achieve is use and manipulate the %1 output in QM instead of a batch file.
1. Make a macro named "HandleFilename"
2. In FileWatcher, put as application (instead of batch program): "c:\program files (x86)\quick macros\qmcl.exe" M "HandleFilename" "%1"
3. In macro "HandleFilename", write the code

mes F" {_command} "
out F" {_command} "

Mes is a message box, out writes in the bottom box of code lines.